Weekly Sweat Sesh 3/16-3/22

Weekly Sweat Sesh kettbell


Monday (3/16): REST
I wish I could workout on Mondays! I have always believed in the “never miss a Monday”. Unfortunately, that is not a reality this semester. I have class until 7:15pm on Monday night and by the time I get home, I’m FAMISHED. Some nights I try to do an at home workout, some nights I listen to my body and rest up.

Tuesday (3/17): CrossFit WOD or Run or Rest
Today I chose to run. I was able to make it to Boston Sports Club around 7:45. I went for a quick 30 minute run & did some ab work. It was nice to focus just on cardio! I’m ready to hit the streets to run though. Come on spring weather….

Wednesday (3/18): CrossFit WOD

METCON:
1 mile. Moderate pace.

STRENGTH:
10 minutes, build to a heavy hang power clean. This is not a max out, this is for practice.

WORKOUT:
Got SkillZ
100-80-60-40-20
10-8-6-4-2
Double Unders
Ring Dips**

Oy, this workout was a doozy. 1 mile METCON, hang power clean and THEN double unders & ring dips? I chose to row for 1 mile for the METCON. The “Got SkillZ” was a tough way to end the workout. I need to work on my double unders!

Thursday (3/19): CrossFit WOD

STRENGTH & SKILL:
Every Minute On The Minute 10 minutes
1-  4 RDLs @ 90-100% of clean + 8 heiden jumps. TnG focusing on core being active and legs straight
2-  Inversion hold. :30-:45 second hold. Choose from a Belly-To-Wall HS hold, HS facing out, headstand, or plank variation

WORKOUT:
‘Fists of Fury’
2 Rounds As Fast As Possible
15 Front Squats from the rack   185/135
15 Toes-To-Bar

What was he thinking? The strength set felt like a workout! This is the first time I really had to do an inversion hold. It was challenging but a great challenge. My shoulders were on fire! The 2 rounds as fast as possible was an awesome challenge, too – I believe I finished the 2 hours in 3 minutes and 20 second.

Friday (3/20): CrossFit WOD

CrossFit Open 15.4

Complete as many reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
3 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
6 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
9 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
12 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
15 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
18 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
21 handstand push-ups
9 cleans
Etc., adding 3 reps to the handstand push-up each round, and 3 reps to the clean every 3 rounds.

Scaled

(Scaled Men, Scaled Masters Men 40-44, Scaled Masters Men 45-49, Scaled Masters Men 50-54, Scaled Women, Scaled Masters Women 40-44, Scaled Masters Women 45-49, Scaled Masters Women 50-54)

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
10 push presses
10 cleans

Needless to say, I did the scaled version of this workout. It was very difficult! I was tired and was not feeling my strongest. I was able to complete 4 rounds in the 8 minutes.

Saturday (3/21): CrossFit WOD & Yoga

STRENGTH:
5 x 2 Power Snatch
5 x 1 Snatch Deadlift @ 100% of heaviest snatch

WORKOUT:
‘Springing In’
With a partner
15 minute AMRAP
Cal row   15/12
4 alternating DB snatch   70/50

Partner A does 1 round AFAP, then Partner B goes and does the same. Count total rounds

Ouch. That is all I have to say about this. My shoulders are toast from the workouts all week. So much so, I dropped a dumbbell on my head… proves how terrible my coordination is, right? My group for “Springing In” was able to complete 4 rounds plus one. What a 15 minute AMRAP!! Woof. I need to listen to my body and take a rest. The yoga class at 4pm on Saturdays is a GREAT addition to the heavy lifting.

Sunday (3/22): CrossFit WOD

STRENGTH:
10 minutes to find a heavy clean and jerk.
go to 70% of heavy single
EMOTM 4 min
1 Clean and 2 jerks

WORKOUT:
‘ Head, shoulders, knees and toes ‘
5 Rounds For Time
7 Hang clean and jerks   95/65
7 Toes-To-Bar
7 Box Jump Overs   24″/20

After this workout…. time to rest.

Monday & Tuesday are rest days for me and I need it. My shoulders hurt, my whole body actually hurts. Rest days are just as important as workout days.

Leave a Reply

